a Women soccer

FIFA boss Gianni Infantino at the congress in Thailand. © ANSA / RUNGROJ YONGRIT

Women's World Cup 2027: Brazil beats Germany & Co

Germany, the Netherlands and Belgium came away empty-handed when it came to awarding the Women's World Cup.

The joint application of the three countries was defeated by Brazil on Friday at the FIFA Congress in Bangkok. Only 78 of the 207 voting members voted for the tournament in Europe, with Brazil receiving 119 votes. Only 197 votes were valid. Germany last hosted the Women's World Cup in 2011.

The game was to be played across countries in up to 13 cities in three years. According to the FIFA evaluation report, Amsterdam should be the venue for the opening game and the final should take place in Dortmund. Instead, the Brazilian association is now hosting a women's World Cup in South America in 2027 for the first time in the history of world football.

The global association had previously assessed aspects of the applications such as infrastructure, sustainability, human rights and legal issues. There were “a number of legal risks” in the Europeans’ application, it said. The state governments did not fully guarantee the legal enforceability of submitted state support documents.

Comments (0)

Complete your profile information to write comments.
Edit Profile

You have to sign into use the comment function.

© 2024 First Avenue GmbH