a Austria

Niklas Geyrhofer and Gregory Wüthrich celebrate: Sturm Graz wins the title. © APA / ERWIN SCHERIAU

Salzburg dominance ended: Sturm Graz are champions

Sturm Graz has ended Red Bull Salzburg's ten-year title streak and are football champions in Austria for the first time since 2011.

On the last matchday of the championship group in the Bundesliga, coach Christian Ilzer's team won its home game against Austria Klagenfurt 2-0 on Sunday. As a result, Graz defended its lead in the table over Salzburg with a two-point lead and thus won the cup and championship double. The cheering in the Graz Merkur Arena knew no bounds after the final whistle.

In a game of patience full of storm chances, central defender Gregory Wüthrich redeemed the 15.325 fans in Graz-Liebenau in the 69th minute with a header from a corner. Shortly before the end, “Joker” Amady Camara (90th) secured the three points.

Graz has new football legends since this Sunday. © APA / ERWIN SCHERIAU

A furious 7-1 home win against third-placed Linzer ASK at the end of the season was of no use to the champions of the past ten seasons under interim coach Onur Cinel. While Graz is qualified for the Champions League, Salzburg has to qualify for the premier class. As a relegated team, Austria Lustenau has to go to the second division.

Austrian Bundesliga, championship group
1. Sturm Graz321910356:2344
2. RB Salzburg32207574:2942
3. LASK321410843:3334
4. Rapid Vienna321112947:3528
5. TSV Hartberg321291149:5228
6. Austria Klagenfurt329121140:5022

Comments (0)

Complete your profile information to write comments.
Edit Profile

You have to sign into use the comment function.

© 2024 First Avenue GmbH