Red Bull Salzburg are champions of the ICE Hockey League. © GEPA pictures/ Gintare Karpaviciute

Klagenfurt is falling apart: Salzburg is ICE champions again

Red Bull Salzburg is the measure of all things in the ICE Hockey League: On Friday evening, the Red Bulls won their third ICE title in a row in the seventh final game against Klagenfurt.

Red Bull Salzburg completed their third ice hockey masterpiece in a row. The defending champion surprisingly retained the upper hand 6-2 on Friday in the seventh and final game of the “best-of-seven” final series of the ICE Hockey League at the KAC. In the third final duel between the two teams, Salzburg prevailed for the second time and can call themselves champions for the eleventh time in the club's history. Record champions KAC missed their 33rd triumph.

The fans in the Klagenfurt town hall, which was sold out with 4.407 spectators, and at the public viewing in the city center had to watch an extremely one-sided final. Nicolai Meyer with a brace (8th, 38th), Peter Hochkofler (17th), Thomas Raffl (21st), Lucas Thaler (43rd) and Benjamin Nissner (57th/EN) ensured clear conditions in favor of the guests. The Carinthians only managed cosmetic results thanks to Paul Postma (44th) and Raphael Herburger (53rd). As in the final series between the two clubs in 2009 and 2011, the champion was only crowned in the seventh match; as in 2011, Salzburg had the better end.

Nicolai Meyer was once again outstanding. © GEPA pictures/Daniel Goetzhaber

Salzburg's Nicolai Meyer was once again outstanding in the final, scoring two goals. A year ago, the Dane scored the championship winning goal in final game 7 against HC Bozen. In this year's semi-final, he was also the one who shot his Salzburg team into the final against Bozen.

Comments (0)

Complete your profile information to write comments.
Edit Profile

You have to sign into use the comment function.

© 2024 First Avenue GmbH